Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Mr. Fun's Birthday

"Will you get dressed-up to go out for a birthday meal to celebrate?" I asked. His answer is evident here.

Even though it is a big birthday, one that ends with a "5," we celebrated just the two of us, no party and fanfare; we enjoyed ourselves immensely.

I think he looks so good. I love this photo. He won't like that I've "blipped" him since he was part of yesterday's blip. We did take lots of photos today of other things, especially Christmas decorations, but he is wearing a Christmas tie, so he is today's decoration! He's considerably more important than a house all decked in holiday lights.

I look at him and can still see the boy I fell in love with many many years ago. In so many ways we've both changed and in many ways we are both the same people we were then. The first time I celebrated a birthday with him, he was turning 20 and I had just turned 16. That feels like 5 minutes ago.

I can remember wanting to marry him more than I wanted life. Today I still feel the same way. He has been the best surprise of my life. There is no one else that I'd rather spend time with. He makes me laugh and sigh and think and see and hear and feel and occasionally he makes me mad enough to see red. Then all over again he makes me laugh. Nothing about life with him has been dull.

It's been a privilege to celebrate him today. I have a number of girlfriends who have buried their husbands . . . that is shattering and devastating. Even if a person lives to be old, really old, life is too short. So we choose to celebrate everyday together. We know that tomorrow is not a guarantee.

So "Happy Birthday Mr. Fun" -- I love you more than life!

Rosie, aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.