michigan man

By outdoorguy

West Virginia Capitol

A couple more travel trivia questions...
1. How many teeny bites can you take out of a regular sized Wheat Thin cracker?
2. How close can you get to the governors house/mansion in West Virginia?
3.What 2 movies was I reminded of driving through the mountains of Virginia and West Virginia?
Answers later.

Got up this morning and took a cold walk around the West Virginia state capitol. It was 31 degrees out. I took the front on shot of the pillars and the gold top that everybody takes...but I liked these 3 heads better. I wish I knew who they were.

We drove about 500 miles from Charleston,W.V., to Charleston, S.C. We are staying with some friends of our daughters. Their 2 kids call us Grandpa and Grandma. 2 precious little ones.

Answers...
1. 76 small bites...77 or 78 if you count all the crumbs that end up on my lap.
2. Not very close. I approached the house for a picture. 4 guys in dark suits blocked my way. I made my case. " 4 years ago we were here, and the governor invited us into his office...I have the pen to prove it!" They weren't buying it. "Please move along...Sir." I moved.
3. The first movie was October Sky. A wonderful movie set in the coal mines of West Virginia. A make-you-feel-good movie. The second movie was Deliverence. It actually was filmed in northern Georgia, but the mountains and the rivers reminded me of the movie. I tried to get the movie out of my thoughts...but my wife warned me..."I THINK I HEAR BANJO MUSIC! YOU BETTER DRIVE FASTER!!!

Ended up being 70 and sunny. Hard to take.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.