Lugnaquilla

Lugnaquilla, meaning "the hollow of the wood" is the highest mountain in County Wicklow and the 13th highest in Ireland at 925 metres or 3035 feet if like me you still think in good old imperial terms. I have never been to the top even though it is a very popular climb especially in winter when the top half of it can remain frozen for long periods and one would not safely ascend without crampons etc.

We went for a morning walk on our nearest hill, Croghan and from half way up we could see that the Lug as it is known locally as, is still very white and dangerous looking.

Some very kind people have been asking how my first week in the new job went. Well, they haven't thrown me out yet despite the fact that I did practically no work all week. They let me read my way into the job, going through manual after manual of nstructions and procedures. The Civil Service all over the world are great believers in rules and regulations. Only right and proper I suppose, but many trees die in the process of making all that paper.
Anyway, so far so good, but things will become interesting over the next couple of weeks. Thanks to everybody who asked and who wished me well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.