Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Still crazy after all these years.

Eighteen years. That's how long we've been together and that's how old we feel. This is our "anniversary". This is us.

We always take this day off to do things together. After the usual early start (TSM and I don't do lying in) we saw the Dizzle off to school (new term blues but he was very good about it) and went out to start our anniversary day with a trip to -

The local municipal waste and recycling centre. Don't say we don't know how to celebrate. Bit traumatic mind you. TSM dropped her watch, drove 'round the block, realised she had forgotten her special ring that she wears every year on this day, went home, went to jump out of the car, snagged her cardi on the door and yelled "what IS the matter with me?" to which I unhelpfully replied - "dunno it's like you're Mister bean all of the sudden".
Not very nice but let's call it affectionate banter.

I had been much more helpful earlier on, in fact to the point that TSM said "hey you're my bitch" to which I replied that we needed a more specific gender appropriate word for a subservient male, so I suggested butch, but she said that was too manly so I suggested mitch (as in male bitch) but at this point we arrived at the dump and I had to throw cardboard into a skip so we never did finish the conversation.

Drove to Petworth. Stopped for a drink in Chiddingfold. Tiny cafe run by a mad South African woman who did excellent coffee. I bought some from her deli (actually a shelf unit stuffed with expensive food). Ended up chatting - not sure how - about winning the lottery and what would be the first thing we would do. "My dears" she cried "I'd go on ebay and buy the biggest diamond I could find!"

ebay? For diamonds?

Petworth is amazing - a National trust property with enormous grounds. The house is huge but very cold (not literally - I mean it feels sad and dark). But you can walk for five miles inside the walled gardens which were laid out by Capability Brown. We had a fabulous time walking 'round and stalking the deer with our cameras. Took this blip by one of the large ponds.

Met a Dutchman called Gerald with a fantastic moustache and asked if I could take his photograph, which he was very happy with. Also saw a collection of a thousand pots and pans in the old kitchens, mainly copper. It really is worth a visit, and it's right on top of the old market town with the same name, which has a couple of decent looking pubs in it.

I'm all happy inside. Days like today, when you spend the whole time just hanging out with someone you love, do that to you. Definitely still crazy after all these years...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.