Simply Me

By Suze981

Celebrating literature

Tonight is World Book Night (and reportedly, Shakespeare's birthday). It's a celebration of reading and books and tonight volunteers gift books in their local communities to help share their love of reading. Essentially it's a tool to help people that don't read, to read.

I am a literary enthusiast. I can't imagine a world in which I am unable to read. In a conversation the other day about losing senses, I realised that, for me, losing my sight is my greatest fear. For one reason - I would be unable to read. I know you can get audio books or people can read to you, but in a way, that taints the book. There'll always be someone else's intonation and interpretation.

I am also, albeit archaic, a fan of the actual book. You won't find me with a kindle or other such reading device. I'm stuck in the library with Giles. I love the look, the feel, the smell of a book. I love turning the pages awkwardly in bed.

This blip shows one of my most prized possessions. It is the complete set of Shakespeare's works in a 'Handy-Volume Set' of 13 books, published by Bradbury, Agnew & Co. of London in 1866. The set includes all the plays, poems and sonnets.

Antiquarian book sellers currently sell these rare sets for between £150-500. My parents bought me my set for a birthday, half my lifetime ago. They are one of the most thoughtful gifts I've ever received. It's rare that people can really know you so well, that decades later, a gift remains as poignant and as valued as the day you received it. I love these books, they'll be with me beyond the point that my withered old eyes can read the small text.

I wish everyone shared my love of reading and of books. My life would be much less without it.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.