The Daily Mynci

By Funkymynci

Clackmannanshire Bridge

It was a horrible day here - freezing cold rain and a biting wind. My better half dragged me out for a 5 mile run in the morning after the school run (I'm off work this week). I realised that I'm in the peak of physical fatness at the moment - didn't particularly enjoy it. She's running a 10K in Glasgow on Sunday in aid of Play Alloa (feel free to sponsor her!).

Later today I had 2 hours to kill while my daugher was at her Young Carers club in Alloa. As it was so grim I decided to try something new. I bought some welding glass from ebay for £2 as I read that it gives the "Big Stopper" effect - allowing very long exposures in daylight. Now I'll never be able to afford £150 for a real Big Stopper filter, so I've cobbled together an el cheapo screw on filter with the welding glass (affectionately known as the "Door Stopper"). Tonight I risked frostnip standing under the Clackmannanshire bridge, just out of the rain and protecting by tripod from buffeting gusts with an umbrella. This was the first 5 minute exposure and worked best. I needn't have bothered enduring the 10 minute and 15 minute exposures that followed. There is a formula to follow with this (Apertures vs shutter speed) but I just guessed. Quite pleased with my first attempt, but I'll need to find a better subject....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.