A Plumbers Wife!

By hebsjournal

Barbara the Tarantula (NOT you mum!)

This is Barbara. She's quite a big tarantula. She was part of the Big Bug Show which took place in school today, but was also on show during the evening at our Annual Open Evening. She's an absolute beauty - she's so cool too watch - she moves really slowly and methodically - unlike most spiders. I have a real deep seated phobia about spiders, but this one, who I have met before at a previous school, is gorgeous - she's so soft - like a fleecy blanket. And yes, I have held her - not last night as I was in headless chicken mode, but at my previous school I faced my fear and held her (and I DO have pictures to prove it!)

Open Evening was exceptionally well attended - the school looked fabulous and the hard work and effort that all of the staff put into preparing for it was well worth it and very much appreciated. The best part for me was that our prefect team were stunningly good, from the Head boy and girl making a speech to the parents that was confidently and articulately delivered, to the Deputy Head boy who performed a piece from "Guys and Dolls" which was outstanding and brought tears to my eyes and gave me goosebumps, to the prefects who took groups of visitors on guided tours of the school. They made me, and the rest of the staff exceptionally proud of them and we will make a point of seeing them all next week to tell them!

Got home at 10.45, as somehow I got conned into taking the guy who ran the Big Bug Show back to Warrington ...it went something like this....

Head of Science "Sarah, do you know anyone who lives in Warrington"

Me "Yeah - I do"

Head of Science "Excellent - can you take Lee back to Warrington tonight then?"

Me (in my head - "Bugger - stitched up like a kipper. How can I say no")

SO, yes I drove for 25 miles with two large black holdalls on my back seat containing an interesting variety of cockroaches, giant millipedes and Barbara the Tarantula. Freaked out - just a tad! (Although the Bug Man was going to meet his friend in one of the pubs in Warrington - which could have been funny "What have you got in the bag mate?" "Oh just some cockroaches and a really big tarantula")



bugs, spiders and teachers - which are scarier????

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.