m o s s t r o o p e r

By mosstrooper

The One that Got Away

The Ones that Got Away by Fiona Gray
This is what Fiona said about the sculpture which was commissioned by the Passenger Transport Authority.

While visiting the pedestrian Tyne Tunnel site I felt that it needed an element of humour, something to make people smile as they headed off to use the tunnel.

Since the River Tyne has been cleaned up, the fish have returned and it now contains salmon, along with mackerel, cod and bream. I came up with the idea of a series of 5-foot-high fish sculptures which appear to be jumping out of the ground.

They are cast in a polymer with a steel core and are coated with a two-tone iridescent paint (flip-flop paint) which changes colour from turquoise to purple as you move around them.



It was a very pleasant start to the day with blue sky and sunshine but by lunchtime the clouds had already began to gather. This fish sculpture by Fiona Gray has been on my blip list for quite some time so today I decided to try and capture it. Now when I say 'it' there are actually five pieces (three heads and two tails). Trying to capture the whole lot without a messy background isn't an easy feat especially as it's located near ugly warehouses. I took many shots but I chose a close-up one in the end due to the simplicity of the shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.