Double Crosses

I was on my way to pick up some shelving units when i passed this old church. It is St. John the Baptist, in Hartland, Michigan.

I say old. It was originally built as a log cabin in 1844, and the brick replaced the logs in 1868. Doing the math for you, that's 146 years old. (Pretty good shape for 146.)

I put it in black and white for 2 reasons. 1. From the outside, the stained glass windows don't show much color. 2. Near the back end of the church, the bricks don't match...probably when the church put on an addition.

I do like to learn one new thing a day. Today it was a word from the state historical sign in front of the church. It read...the corbeled brick.

Definition: An architectural member that projects from within a wall, and supports a weight: especially one that is stepped upward and outward from a vertical surface.

I think you can see the corbeled brick above the church windows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.