Healey Dell

We decided to take yesterdays planned walk today, since it was a brighter day.

So off we went to Healey Dell. (Link didn't work!)

We've been here before; we rode there on the bike in summer, but when we got there, they were having a WWII day so we didnt stay long.

What we didn't know until today, is that it used to be part of the Royal Ordnance Factory group. We found a map which showed what all the old, crumbling buildings used to be.

Mr A has history with the ROF; he did an apprenticeship and his parents worked at the site in Blackburn; his sister now lives on the site that was in Chorley.

Mr A always wanted to follow in his Dad's footsteps, but hated it, which led him to uni and a career as a cameraman. He still has fond memories of the place though and a couple of bricks from the old site.

Our walk was lovely, but cold, and we didn't think the signage was up to much but we managed to find our way around.

Once we got back to the car, we warmed up with a flask of hot vimto....lovely!

I'm back to work tomorrow, so tonight we plan to chill out and watch Rocky. I confessed that I've never seen any of the films, so Mr A is making sure we watch them before we visit the 'Rocky steps' when we go on holiday later this year!

Squirrel news.....we emptied the platter onto the floor and they seemed happier with it; though they don't apear to like anything green (grapes, peas or cucumber). I think we will go back to peanuts.

Blip news.....I now have the iphone app but I'm still struggling. I'm still unable to add a link properly.
Plus, I get a reminder to blip....when I've already done it!

Todays blip took an age to upload as the app kept crashing.
I hope these are just niggles that will be sorted out soon.

Apologies also for not keeping up with comments; I will get round to it!

All today's photos are on flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.