Stuck in the mud

What a difference a day makes. Mike had  dental appointment this morning in Dingwall so he dropped me off near the football stadium so that I could go for a walk. The sun was shining but black clouds were approaching so I thought I may be in for a soaking. Luckily it stayed dry and I had a wonderful walk along the banks of the canal ( a short tidal canal) and over the bridge and down the path on the other side which runs next to the Cromarty Firth.
Plenty of birds around, new sightings for the area for me included redpoll, yellow hammer, mallard, shelduck and teal.
The tide was coming in an by the time I walked back to Ferry Point it was right in so plenty of waders were huddled up together.
I managed to see this curlew strolling along the mudflats. It coped well and was walking quite quickly. Quicker than me as the path I was on was muddy and wet after the snow melt from yesterday.
The heron was so bright , it's white feathers reflecting the sun so almost impossible to photograph.
Two bluetits were feeding on alder seed cones. Hanging up side down at times. So many small birds flying among the bushes and trees. I had the company of a robin for most of the way. Such a good area for bird watching with a wide variety of habitat.
Think this is the calm before the storm as strong winds are forecast for tomorrow :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.