World Book Day

I have just been to see Ann Cleeves at Bolton Library....no not that Ann...and it's Cleeves not Cleves. 

Ann is a crime writer....she wrote the Shetland and the Vera books which have both been on tv. What an interesting lady to listen to, she came into the room looking quite unassuming but appearances can be deceptive. Her head is in Shetland mode at the moment so she spoke about that series of books. I haven't read or watched them, but I'm going to have to read them after hearing her talk about them...and she tantalised us by reading an opening chapter.....I wanted more! 

I love the series, Vera, Brenda Blethyn is brilliant in the main role. I bought the latest book and of course had it signed. Ann was very happy to pose for a pic too. She is a voracious reader and was keen to hear what books we were reading at the moment, I told her that I was working my way through the Arnaldur Indridason books and was a huge fan of his.....she then told me that she is organising the programme of the Harrogate Crime Festival in July and he is going to be there!!!! He never goes to anything...but he is going to that one......well so am I !!!!!!

I used to love World Book Day...dressing up as a book character was such a laugh at school. I once decided to go as Allan Ahlberg's Mrs Wobble the Waitress....I tried to hire an old fashioned waitress outfit but could only get a french maid's costume...it looked good with the roller skates though! Another time I was Jacob Marley and I had an old frock coat, grey wig and metres of chains that wrapped round me and dragged across the floor. My favourite character, though, was the child catcher, from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang.....the false nose I wore was rather phallic hilarious. I was very popular as I had lots of lollipops that I handed out.
I love books. I love a good character. I'm just trying to think who I'd like to dress up as now........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.