Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Droplet

This wasn't the image I aimed to create but will do.  A droplet, like a tear, for the sad news today. 

Unlike the announcement of the partnership with Polaroid, the news that Blipfoto Ltd has been sent into compulsory liquidation has shown how united the users of this site are.  I had to spend a great deal of time on the computer, which allowed me to dive in and out of the Blipfoto Friends Group on Facebook where the news unfolded. Yes, there is a great deal of concern for the future of our journals but, there is a great deal of empathy being shown for the staff that have brought us so far.  

There is no anger but true sadness.  My thoughts are very much with all those who have have fought to keep Blipfoto going  but have now  lost their livelihoods. 

I suspect the lack of information from head office to be a veto from administration. We can only hope that a buyer is found soon and that Blipfoto will remain the the outstanding site that it is today.  

I will continue blipping whatever and am not searching for an alternative site yet.  The more the posts the more value the site has and I, for one, do not want to see it go down.  

I've always had a backup for the photos and, strangely, I can remember most of where I was and what I was doing from the photo alone. I doubt I can find the time to back up the blurb. What I would really miss is the unique solidarity and friendships amongst blippers. 

Just in case... keep my contact details sheenagh.mclaren@gmail.com and I can be found on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/sheenagh.mclaren

If you don't see the forums please read and join in the following event tomorrow which safotoblips has kindly announced.  I think we should all show our solidarity. 

BLIP POSTS TOGETHER FOREVER 18th MARCH...

Who remembers Blip together from 2010???

Wouldn't it be kinda awesome if we all did a blip together kind of shot say... Tomorrow 18TH MARCH and let the Blipfoto team know... We stand together in what has been created... What we have all shared... Our support for the Blipfoto team... that we want it to be saved! It's a visual/photo site so let's make our feelings VISUAL! (sahfotoblip)

So to summarise...

We all post a blip/ Selfie standing in the 2010 blip together stance (standing up... arms outstretched as if we are to link with someone either side of us)

We tag #blipfotoforever

Have a piece of paper with the tag in it

LETS FLOOD BLIPFOTO TOMMORROW WITH OUR BLIP TOGETHER BLIPS AND SHOW OUR SOLIDARITY!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.