Birthday

I like it on my birthday. I like the fact that there's a higher chance than usual of seeing some people that I love all in the same place and, furthermore, that they'll probably fancy a drink and some fun. There's also a much better than usual chance that I'll get a say in the music, too :-)

So, this evening I was joined by Charlie and Hannah - both up from Manchester - Milly, Dan 'n' Abi, the Minx and miniMinx, and Dean. I was a little sad that Izzy wasn't there but then again she was busy having fun in Budapest, so I just had to take that one on the chin.

I was the happy recipient of lots of lovely and very thoughtful presents, including Hergé's 'Explorers on the Moon' from Abi, on the basis that "you were born in the sixties". But, really, I shouldn't mention any in particular; I was just moved by the fact that everyone had thought about what I might really like.

Highlights of the evening included 'Fenner Pictionary', which was devised by the Minx, and which provided me with lots of laughs at the ideas that people came up with ('wine' and 'Kraftwerk' being a couple of the less surprising ones). In the photo is the cake that the Minx made for me, which was both delicious and beautifully crafted, giving a nod to both Public Sector Broadcasting and Jodrell Bank. 

It was a wonderful evening, all because of the people who came along. It was a good start to being 49 (although tomorrow I expect I'll be wondering about being 50!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.