Out of office

Jeez, what a tense start to the day! I needed to drop Dan and Abi up at the house at ten to eight and then be on the 08:23 to London. That wasn't the tense bit, mind you; that was quite manageable. No, the tense bit was waking up to Instagram photos taken by people in Kendal showing snow everywhere!

Still, the kids were as good about getting up as usual and were even uncomplaining about being hurried along by a slightly stressed dad. In the end, though, it was fine and, in fact, I ended up spending ten minutes in the waiting room, drinking a rather nice latte made by the chap with the coffee wagon on the platform.

The rest of the day went well enough, too; at Heathrow in good time for my meeting, which I enjoyed, back to Euston in time to catch the five o'clock train and I was driving back to Kirkby by around eight pm. I still had a bit of work to do - I'm not always great at working on the train - but I really didn't fancy sitting in the cottage on my own while I did it.

As an alternative, I ambled along to the Red Dragon, which has wifi, not many customers, and reasonable (if slightly over-priced) food. At the moment, it's the one place where I don't feel awkward taking my laptop in the evening. So, today's photo is of my evening office: it's not a bad spot and I do hope they get a few more customers soon, even if it means I have to move on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.