Hummingbird hawk-moth

The forecast for today was thundery with heavy rain. For most of it, after a misty morning, the sun broke through clouds. Only this evening has the thunder begun to rumble around the countryside.

As I sat out on our patio area the lavender bushes were buzzing with activity. When I looked more closely the noise came mostly from very fast moving moths. They became today's blip challenge.

They flitted so fast and beat their wings so rapidly that they were a blur to the naked eye, let alone the shutter. Sports mode on my compact did not help much either. I did get to see that the nectar was being sipped out of the tiny flower heads. Unlike bees they did not settle on the plants but like humming birds hovered.

So, after many hand held attempts , I was pleased with this one. Didn't get the wings in focus but you can see the nectar being extracted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.