Year Three

By RobotChicken

Chick rescue

Well, there is a family of birds, not sure what type they are living in a drainpipe near where I sit. The drainpipe doesn't drain anything during the summer, so it's nice and out of the way, and for the last three years I've watched a pair of birds nest there, and then bring up (feed constantly) two chicks.

Once the chicks are able to fly, I don't see them again for the summer.

And here they are. But one fell out of the nest earlier. Was flapping round the road and I could not bare to see him harmed, so stopped what I was doing and rounded up the chick, and then worked out how to scale a 9 foot wall.

I did ask some cyclists for some help, they agreed, and promptly cycled off. Couldn't make that up really.

So ended up scaling the wall with one hand. Managed to get the chick back on the nest thankfully.

Tense 39 minutes to see if they had been abandoned, but the adults soon came back, and feeding resumed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.