wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

I was asked why I take pictures today.......

Today was a blast. My neighbor was feeling down and didn't want to change out of her pajamas so........I made her change, grab her keys and camera and made her put on her hunters.......and off we went.
She had never been to Pineland Center. This is a great place where I have taken many photos. It's awesome there. While I was there she asked: " Why do you take pictures?"
It occurred to me that behind the lense I am free.
No one corrects your grammar when you take pictures.
No one knows your race, religion, sex, or preference for either.
You take what you want to take.
Even ones that come out blurry can be your favorites.
I am mesmerized by color, shape and size and everything else.
Someone has to record the bizarre and strange.
I don't have to apologize for anything ( I can blame it on the weather!)
As many of you know, I am kind of a strong personality. Polarizing is more like it. I tend to be rather well liked or not at all. Well some people know me like that. Truth is, I'm not really like that anymore. There have been considerable changes. Rarely do I drink more than a few beers a month, and along with very few late lights....have become more the "norm" in the past few years.
I am always amazed when old friends are encountered and they say odd things and make assumptions based on the times of my past. It takes me a bit aback. A look back on who I was and who I am now is bittersweet. You are where you are because of who and where you have been. So I guess there should be no regrets. It's easier now to shrug and say you can't change the past......
Either way, I am ok now to be quieter, less the life of the party and less alcohol. I don't feel the need to know everything or have to have an answer, or advice on everything and......that's ok.
As I was on my knees and taking this picture, it occurred to me, this riverbed echoed my life's path. There are large stones almost blocking the bed and others small and worn into a path. The reflection at the end made me think........what will I see at the end of my life? What are the kind of things will I remember or be remembered for? Then a bird flew by and I was totally distracted, and there was a color blue in the wind, oh and there was a frog........and reflection became a smile as I saw so many things today to be excited about and photograph.
I saw today through my friend Susan's eyes. She is often a type of recluse and is difficult to get out. Everything brought her joy and we danced by the frog pond. She saw a great blue heron and we spent 45 minutes photographing it and being amazed by it's awesome size and mannerisms. ( oh yeah that is one bizarre bird). It occurred to me,that these are the times that matter. Seeing life and yourself through someone else's eyes is a gift. She thinks I am cool. She is happy to be my friend and is encouraging and funny and after seven years of friendship still happy to see me. We have adventures often. She always makes me laugh. I am so lucky. My wild and crazy past doesn't matter to her but my life now and future does. We want to be neighbors forever. I hope we will. We accept each other's quirks and embrace each other's exuberance........oh yes you know when we are around.
As all these millions of thoughts fly through my brain (as they often do) I smile and realize my life may be not like anyone else's but, I would not trade it for anything.
I take pictures because they are me without judgement, without prejudice, and filled with love for who I was, am and will be.
Yup I am a lot of person and that's ok.
As always I wish G'day DownUnder and goodnight to the north.
In my heart I know that someday I will be Downunder and say those in reverse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.