Life In Wales

By KarenC

Water Lilies

It was Brighton Pride today - we moved from Belgium two years ago today and it was the Pride weekend so we couldn't go, then last year I went to London to meet my girls, so all year I've kept this weekend free so that we could go.  But yet again we couldn't, due to my recuperation - it's the 25th Pride celebrations so it was going to be big and particularly with the nice weather I'm sure there would be so many people, so I couldn't risk it - I would have had to have stood for a long time, and also I couldn't risk getting bumped and hurting my wound.  There's always next year!

But despite that, we had a lovely day - we had to take the boys to the vets for their annual check ups and boosters, and then went to B&Q to buy a new parasol for the garden.  Then in the afternoon we went to the Rottingdean Village fair.  We drove to the top of Saltdean and then walked into Rottingdean.  It's not too far and we just walked slowly down to the village green.  There were lots of stalls selling things and we bought a beautiful mosaic butterfly for the garden.  It had been made by a partially sighted person from The Blind Veterans UK, and is a wonderful piece of work.  The lady on the stall said she does arts and crafts with them and it's amazing to see them feeling around and placing the pieces.

After we'd had a wander, we sat and had a glass of Pimms before coming home to sit in the garden.  

I couldn't decide what to blip today, but chose the water lilies on the village pond and I've put a couple of the village fair in my extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.