A Proud Chap

Mrs madwill was going to The Quilt Show at the NEC and so I, not wanting to visit, went in to Birmingham city centre, catching the train from NEC.

I wandered around the New Street / Bullring area and then headed off to the canals around Gas Street. I walked out to Fiveways and back and then spent the rest of the day around the marina.It is a wonderful area - bustling with people and so many pubs / restaurants all full to bursting! I really enjoyed looking around, stopping only briefly for a coffee and a sandwich.

I was admiring the painted cans on one of the narrow boats (see extra photo) and the owner appeared out his boat - I got chatting to him and he said that a friend of his was the painter and that he had done a couple of plaques for inside his doors, which he duly opened up! I asked if I could take a shot and he said did I want him in too so I said of course - so here he is proudly showing off his friend's artwork!

Around 5 p.m. I met up again with Mrs madwill at the NEC and we headed off to stay overnight at a farm - where some old stables have been converted into chalets. The one we had had a little kitchenette and breakfast bar - and a breakfast 'hamper' was provided - cereal, pastries, bread, eggs, yogurts and fresh milk.

We went into Knowle for our tea - a rather splendid Indian buffet meal and later we sat outside the chalet - a little beer and wine to end the day!

I have hundreds of photos to catalogue and sort through!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.