The footballer

I did nt know there was a hoverfly called 'The footballer'. It gets it's name from the yellow and black stripy thorax which is like an old fashioned football top. It is also called The sunfly as it often seen on sunny days and as you can see the day did start bright and sunny but clouded over in the afternoon. Lots of bees and other buzzing bugs but still very few butterflies. Just one meadow brown that flew off as I approached. The first butterfly that I've seen on the Buddleia. It's a shame there are not many around as the buddleia is full of wonderful blooms.
My Mum and Dad fly up tomorrow so will be off to pick them up from the airport. I think they will notice a difference in the temperature ,29 degrees in Kent today and 21 degrees here which is much higher than we've been having. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.