madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

High Summer!

Ha! This sums up summer to me - sunlight through leaves, clthes drying outside! I was taking the trees growing up from behind  the old dry walling along the path from the station, when Ispotted the pegs! Love at first sight! I tried to angle through the leaves but was unsuccessful, then heard movement from the owners and afraid of being accused as a Peeping Tom ( Is there a female equivalent to Tom? Wikipedia says " Feminine versions of this name are Thomasina, Tamsyn, Tamsin, Tasmina, Tasmino, Thomaida/Thomais, or Tammy." ) So afraid of being accused of being a Peeping Tamsin, I moved quickly on! 
I overslept this morning so rushed out to the chickens with my, let alone their, feathers ruffled! On the allotment I picked blackberries to make it up to them. There is something so therapeutic about picking Blackberries, gently tugging on each one to see if they are ripe, in which case they just slide off the plant, the sun warming your back, the birds singing, the buzzards doing their cry and the crickets rubbing their legs together to make that distinctive sound. So calming, so pleasurable.
Yesterday I had spoken to friend about how although I loved the thought of travel, I felt no compulsion to do it. I knew the pleasurable emotions travel would bring - the sights,sounds, smells, tastes let alone the history, culture, pace of life of another country. But I have felt those emotions, I can conjure them up and relive how they made me feel. So did I really want or need to repeat it? At present no. Maybe in the future I will, but for the moment I relish the pleasures that my current life gives me - simple, repetitive, but an affirmation of how content I am in my current retired life. I recognised a long time ago that what I desired was contentment. Whenever I was in the position to make a wish, this is what I would wish for. More realistic than happiness perhaps - recognising that some things cannot be changed and will be always a source of sadness, regret, complaint even. But contentment means accepting such things, but not being influenced by them. 
Wondering about wishing I found the following things one can wish upon - 
Wishbones ( please no! )Straw Wrappers, Birthday Candles, Pennies, Eyelashes,  White Horses, Rainbows, Lucky Smoke, Star, Wishing wells,The Moon. 11:11.am or pm,, Ladybugs, Stones, Fountains, Acorns, Dandelions, Necklace Chains, Yawning, Falling Leaves, Feathers!!!!!
See here if you want to see how!

I have nothing more to say! Apart from the fact for the first time this summer the Buddleia by the station was covered in butterflies! Such a gorgeous sight! Day spent reading, sleeping off a headache from oversleeping, locking up the chickens and being anything but contented with my still tortuously slow laptop!! Missed three Art openings of friends for Drawn to the Valley week of Art shows in peoples homes, public spaces, but it is on all week so plenty of time! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.