The Roosevelt "Cottage"

Instead of going into the national park today (Acadia), we took off and drove 105 miles east. To the most eastern point of the United States...Lubec, Maine.

There is a special lighthouse there called West Quoddy. It is striped, striped in red and white. I took the normal tourist shots, then hit the beach in search of more. I did some more "scampering", even jumping over some water to get to the big rock.

Only problem? I forgot about the tide, and it was rising. By the time I started back, it was an even bigger jump to clear the water. My "jump" fell short, and both feet went in past my ankles. Oops. I had other shoes in the van, but no dry socks. So, I wet-footed it all day.

This cottage belonged to President Franklin Delano Roosevelt, having been in his family for many years. We had to cross a small bridge into Canada (New Brunswick) to see it. The cottage has 12 bedrooms, and 6 bathrooms, but in Roosevelt's time...no electricity.

We got the last two tickets for the 3 p.m. Eleanor tea time, taking place in another cottage. It was two older ladies talking about Franklin's wife. They were very informative and good, but talked WAY too long. Almost 90 minutes. EVERYTHING you always wanted to know about Eleanor Roosevelt. (She really was quite a woman.)

All in all, a great but long day. Twelve and a half hours, and we're tired.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/124969130@N06/albums/72157658685885451 Check out the inside of the two places, and some pictures of  two lighthouses. Also, some business signs from my morning walk.

An added bonus at the 2nd light were 6-7 seals feeding in the water. I tried to shoot them, but my pictures were garbage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.