Sick Chicken Part 2!

Say hello to Estelle!
I noticed on opening the girls yesterday that Estelle seemed to have a large crop, and on closing it was even larger! I texted the saturday morning opener and asked him to check her in the am and call me if it was still enlarged - it was and she wasn't coming out the coop so up I went! 
She was out when I got there and ran at the apples I brought! Apples and an impacted crop is a no no so I grabbed her and upended her and massaged her crop to make her sick! But nothing came up so into the cat basket she went and home she came! I tried again after another  massage - still nothing. So warm water and oil syringed down her throat, more massage and more upside down massaging over the bath! Still nothing! So its a regime of warm water and massage and a diet of grit and yogurt for the next 24 hours and the hope this will break down whatever is causing the problem.
I have made a bed for her to go into for the day and as you can she she is quite happy there!  At the moment she has come out and is exploring the kitchen! I will make up the dog cage for her tonight and sunday as I am off to a Christmas Craft Fair at Mawgan Porth tomorrow - hopefully might get some good wave photos too! I certainly don't want a sick chicken part 3! You can see Part 1 with Dotty on yesterdays blip! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.