Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Stevan the steward

We arrived at Glasgow Airport in plenty of time (thank you, Uncle A) and went to check in. Where is my visa for Australia? What visa for Australia? UK passports need a visa. First I've heard of it! Fortunately, I could purchase one. £25 please, at another counter. Rather annoying, as I could have travelled on my Kiwi passport, and Kiwis don't need a visa.

We're now in Dubai Airport, along with millions of others, at 2am local time. Dodgy wifi, though. We've nabbed a couple of loungers, but I'm perched on a display thing out in the main bit where there's a better signal.

Six and a half hours flight - not too bad, really. Time for a G&T, a meal, a film (Carnage) and a snooze. Next two legs not quite so easy- 14 hours each.

This steward was charming. Emboldened by the G&T and wine with dinner, I asked if I could take his photo. I didn't use flash, and didn't change any settings in my haste/ alcoholic haze, so it's not the best. I have no idea what that is on my TV.

His name is Stevan, and he's from Serbia. He spent quite a while telling us about his job, which he loves. He trained as a lawyer, but couldn't get a job in Serbia, and if he did, the pay would have been ?300 a month.

He speaks several languages, including Russian. The training is rigorous, and they are tested on any obscure fact before every flight, and if they get it wrong they don't fly. They are trained for all emergencies, including CPR of course. But the conditions are good and it's a much sought after job. As we came into land he gave us a Toblerone. Sweet!

Right. I'm going back to my lounger, as this is rather uncomfortable, but I won't be able to while away the hours browsing blip as anticipated, so won't be able to comment.

Got a meal voucher for McDonald's, but we'll savour that (!) and have it later.

Two hours have whizzed by already! Only another eight to go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.