His and Hers

When Cynthia and I travel together by air, we always try to go with only carry-on baggage, so we don't take a lot of unnecessary stuff. No matter how light my bag feels when I pick it up, by the time I've walked through the airport to the departure gate, I feel as if my arms have been stretched a couple of inches.

A couple of days ago I told Cynthia that I was thinking about getting a roll-on bag. (She's been using a backpack). Intrepid researcher that she is, she presented me with a list of bags today. The one that I liked was at the REI online store, and it was on sale, but the only color they had was black. I checked availability at the Bellingham store -- a couple of miles from our home -- and found that they had them in stock, so I immediately drove there, and was pleased to see they had blue ones -- our favorite color.

I managed to persuade Cynthia to give up her backpack for one of these. It wasn't very difficult.

Now I want to take another trip -- but I think I can wait until our September visit to Cynthia's Aunt Sally in Virginia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.