Mashing at Kingsbarns

This is part of the production area at Kingsbarns distillery, where I now work. At the back you can see the mash tun, where the hot water is added to the grist (coarse type of flour made from malted barley) in order to extract sugars by converting the starches into sugar maltose by activating enzyme activity. At the front you can see a hot water tank.

I have been learning lots more about whisky production and I do regularly take people around the distillery to explain about the process. This is probably the part of my job I enjoy the most.

The process of moving flats, relocating and adapting to a new job and enviroment has been tough and it has had it's ups and downs. Maybe it has been because it all has happened at the same time. But I'm getting there... Sorry I haven't been around much but I've had some more  important issues in my mind which are slowly getting sorted

This is a back blip.

Hope you're well xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.