Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

It's a start!

Popped up to the doc to review my pill intake based on last week"s blood test. Not the good news I had hoped for- the dosage has to be increased. These are the pills that make me put on weight (nothing to do with sitting around eating Magnums, of course). So the good news is - there is no point my starting a serious diet quite yet. Phew. I had a Magnum from my disminishing stash to 'celebrate...'

On the way to the doctor, I met our neighbour, who was going to do a bit of work over a coffee in the cafe, so when I finished at the doc's I popped in to distract him from his work while I waited for my prescription. And to test their flat whites.

Back home to take Archie out, then - wait for it - I got my swimming bag out! And yes, I did manage to squidge myself into the togs. The seams are incredibly strong and the material amazingly stretchy. And off I went to the pool. As it's about a minute's walk from the house, this first bit was no bother at all.

But once in the water it definitely was a bother! I was fair puggled after ten minutes. And so, not wanting to overdo it on my first outing, I repaired to the other side and did ten minutes of vertical dog paddling. This doesn't look like much, but it's more effort than my swimming, where my legs do nothing at all. At least this way my legs are cycling away like mad under the water.

When JR came home, she took Archie up the Hill. It's been sunshine and showers all day, but they timed their walk wrong - and got caught in hail, rain as well as the expected gale force winds.

Still, I've got the fire on, with coffee and a lap ready (for a dried-off JR and Archie respectively).

Last night's TV (War and Peace and Deutchsland 93) to watch.

This is Archie peeking hopefully at my porridge. What big claws he has!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.