Da Esplanade

It's been a fine enough day, in between the showers.  There has been some heavy showers at times but plenty of sunshine.  The wind has calmed down this evening and it's a starry night.

I've had a busy day in the museum office.  I had a meeting with the Shetland Times for the book I was working on last year, but due to the poor summer, I never got finished.  Hopefully will get started with it again soon and finished.  I have also been working with photo orders today.  After tea the new corner sofa arrived.  9ft long and 7ft at the end, it's huge!!  After the struggle getting into the house, now enjoy a moment relaxing before heading to work in the pub. 

I've been looking at more photos on our photo archive for the book I was working on.  This is one scene I might use in the final book.  There used to be a complete row of buildings along the Esplanade waterfront, but in the 1950s they demolished some many old buildings around Lerwick to make way for the main road, cutting right through the middle of these buildings.  The white building is the main Shetland post office and postie Paul MacSween heading for the post van.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.