The Swan Lake

A proper nature preserve walkie was called for today, as it was a cold but beautiful and sunny day. We gave each other a high five and headed out for the moonscape bird lake. With the ice and snow today, it was very beautiful. Mum wouldn't let me go out on the ice - what if there are pike still alive and it breaks? - but I was happy anyway. Zip birds today. These waters cannot be trusted to remain open yet.

I was allowed off lead most of the way. I climbed a rock nearly as high as the giant's throw the other day before mum had a chance to say stop! Fields and meadows were almost snow free. Mum said Run! And I ran. And Come! And I came! You get the picture. It was a long and happy walkie!

Grandma, who is an excellent cook, had made a salmon gratin, laxpudding, and we got some. It's sliced potato, cured salmon, lots of dill and eggs and milk to cover it, cooked in the oven. Delish!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.