LadyPride

By LadyPride

Crash, bang and wallop

And it was all going so well...

Gorgeous family day by the pool followed by a lovely dinner.

Angus and I had a bottle of wine. Came back to the room with Squidge in high spirits and I started playing a game of What Time Is It Mr Wolf which involved running and chasing round (in heels, with wine consumed - idiot that I am).

What happened next was absolutely terrifying although to be fair I was out cold for most of it (and poor Angus bore the brunt). I tripped and fell landing on my head on the tile floor with an almighty crack.
I was unconscious and a huge egg shaped bump appeared on my head.

The next thing I remember is lying on the bed and Angus calling reception asking for help. My head was pounding and I felt sick. Squidge was stroking my arm with the cutest concerned look on her face.

They sent a doctor who gave me an ice pack and checked me over. Hospital was an option but I just couldn't face it so we negotiated that Angus would watch me all night and that they'd come back in the morning. After the doctor left I burst into tears of shock.

Angus was amazing. He's someone you want there in a crisis. He was calm and directional, explaining everything to Squidge and I.

We settled Squidge for bed and Angus and I just sat on the bed shaking and holding hands. Head injuries are scary but we hadn't wanted to show Squidge our concern. I feared going to sleep incase I didn't wake up. I even penned a quick letter to friends and family incase I died in my sleep (always the drama!)

Woke up this morning and the swelling has gone done considerably but it's still quite large and my jaw hurts. Found some more bruising on my bum so must have fallen on that first. Hotel sent a nurse to put gel on my head and another ice pack along with some tablets. Plus breakfast in the room - result! Angus is being nurse and he's great.

Going to rest up today in the room and drink water. Annoyed with myself for ruining a day of the holiday. But also relieved to be OK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.