DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

G'day Possums!

I wasn't overly impressed with my last eye test at specsavers last year especially as the optician spent the whole time noisily mauling a polo mint.

I've noticed lately my eyes are taking longer to focus when I move from close up to distance (eg: from my patient's mouth to the computer) and in general things aren't as sharp as they used to be, so booked in at a local place that Mum used to take us as kids.

The eye test was very thorough and proved that my eyes have worsened since the last tests; albeit not by much but enough to warrant glasses to stop me straining my eyes and make things that little bit clearer.

We discussed options; ideally he said I should have a pair for distance and a pair for reading, but given my line of work, I'd need to keep switching between pairs which isn't an option.
Nor are contact lenses; I'm squeamish about eyes so can't contemplate poking anything in them.
The final suggestion was a pair of varifocals, which seemed to be the best idea.

Next challenge was to choose a frame. I thought I'd enjoy doing this but it was really difficult! The majority of frames fell into 2 categories: old lady or Dame Edna and I'm neither of which yet!

The assistant showed me to their range of designer frames and hallelujah, there were a few there that I liked shame about the price tags but it was still difficult to decide.

She told me there's no rush, so I said I will call in again at the weekend with Mr A in tow to give me an honest opinion of my choice.
Hopefully, between us, I'll be able to pick a pair.

If you look closely, you might spot a cheeky selfie :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.