Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Lake District Day Two

Sunshine and showers today, but fine for a sight- seeing drive. So after an excellent breakfast ('I Can't Get No Satisfaction' for our listening pleasure - fortunately fairly quiet in our area).

For the first time ever - Archie actually got into the car voluntarily! He always digs his heels in as soon as he realises what is happening, and has to be lifted in. But today he jumped up into my lap when I was sitting in the passenger seat. Twice.

Had we cracked the carsickness? After all, he travelled in the front, looking out at the scenery, for about three hours yesterday - no bother.

Well, it might have been cracked, except that we went on the steepest, twistiest, hilliest, pot-holedest road in the entire Lake District. And therefore wonderfully scenic, of course. And so, eventually, he was sick. Fortunately just as we arrived at one of the infrequent 'Pay and Display' car parks.

We cut our proposed route short, and headed back to base and after a gallop in the very muddy park, and meeting dozens of dogs, he was back to his happy self.

This afternoon JR went off to check out the shops, and Archie and I relaxed at the hotel - that's the view from our room in extras. Then I decided to go out too, as the room hadn't been done yet. I had noticed a nearby wine bar (every establishment seems to be dog friendly here!) but I only had £1.15, so I put a beer and crisps on a tab, and rang JR to come and pay for it. Thank goodness she answered my phone call - eventually - as often as not, when shopping, she 'doesn't hear it...'

Archie has been very intrigued by the lift - his first. I hope he'll be intrigued on a boat - his first - tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.