Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Chilled

Last night took Archie for a quick walk round the block before his tea, and Rufus's door was open, so we popped in for five minutes to say hello. G&Ts were poured, and suddenly it was two hours later. I hadn't brought my phone, which was very naughty, as JR was worried that something had happened to us. I should never go out without my phone.

Anne came to take Archie out for walkies this morning. As the Meadows on a sunny day isn't suitable for a greedy wee dog, at my suggestion she took him on the bus to Braidburn Valley Park. There's no litter, plenty of bins, and usually plenty of dogs to meet.

While they were gone I took a notion to do lots of housework. This being June, I decided that the winter duvet and electric blanket just had to come off! Washing was done and hung out. Hoovering without a dog barking at the noisy beast was a novelty.

In the afternoon I popped into town to meet up with some ex-colleagues. But I always forget that 'popping into town' is a misnomer - at this time of year it actually takes forever! And coming home on busy buses takes even longer.

By the time I got home after 6pm, I was quite chilled. I had been sitting under the completely unnecessary air conditioning in Starbucks, and so with my fragile head that gets chilled easily, it was not ideal.

However, I'm home now. Big bar of chocolate eaten. Dog on my lap. Hat on my head. All is well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.