Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A good day all round

The boiler man was coming today 'between 8am and 7pm'... However, about 10am, he rang to say he was nearly with us. Charming young chap, he was, and admired our old boiler. In fact, he'd never seen one in such good condition for its age. Good to know that my joists and my boiler are in good nick!

The boiler man coming in the morning meant that we could go out for lunch. I had a voucher to use up, so rang and booked. JR and Archie walked across the Meadows, while lazy old me (sore knees excuse) took the bus around.

A pleasant enough lunch was partaken of, though I always prefer something on the menu that wasn't allowed on the voucher. We moved to a good seat that wasn't directly under a speaker, but actually, the music was not the usual screechy current pop noise, but all songs that I recognised. And it wasn't loud. Those gins look big, but they're actually full of ice cubes.

I took the bus home again - via the Almond Magnum corner - so as not to miss the beginning of the Murray/Wawrinka match - well done Murray! I've never seen him play so well.

The others walked back. Archie kept lying down in the shade - it can't be too hot for him! They have now gone up the Hill to meet Bailey and her mum while I stay glued to the match.

I have had a lazy day. Full of treats. The kind I like. Archie has had a three-walk day - the kind he likes. JR had a good day. Andy had a very good day too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.