Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

France Day Four

This morning a large group of fitness fanatics rode the electric bikes to yet another chateau. The lazy folk on the cruise were taken by bus round the countryside and we met them at the rather splendid Chateaux Margaux.

A young English woman told us all about the process, then we tasted some of their grand cru. After a pleasant morning out, we were back on the boat for lunch. An afternoon watching tennis, until our TV broke down again, which it has done every day. Most annoying in the middle of a match.

In the evening we all got dolled up - some more than others - elegant casual was the suggested dress code (pretty much my daily attire). We had an hour's bus ride to a wonderful chateau where we were met outside (it was a warm evening) by handsome black suited, gold tied waiters proffering trays of delicious canapés and wines, with a duo playing classical music on the chateau steps. It was very elegant.

Except that I needed four hands - one for the wine glass, one for canapés, one for my camera, and one for my walking stick. Impossible. So I parked my walking stick by the steps and hovered near the canapés table for a while, which worked quite well.

We then walked the short distance to the dining venue, a huge old stone building with all the tables set up, and had three different wines to go with the courses, and a young chap came and gave us an enthusiastic us about each wine. We had a magnum of the main red for our table, which consisted of four Canadians, four Aussies and us. Everyone is good fun, especially after all that wine. It was a very special evening.

PS I got my days all mixed up, as I'm doing the blips the following day. I've changed them all, so now the comments don't match the blip. Duh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.