Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Hospital Day Two

Well, that was quite a night... Patients growling and snoring in their sleep, patients talking non stop from 10.30 till 12.30, patients frequently and noisily going to the toilet throughout the night. When it wasn't the patients making a racket, it was the nurses yakking loudly just outside the door. Yes, I forgot my earplugs, which might have helped a bit. Got them for tonight.

We all slept blissfully from 5am till just before 8am breakfast.

Physio came and got me sitting on a chair twiddling my toes and tensing my leg. Nothing too much today. Out on my zimmer tomorrow.

I made sure I asked for my painkillers every two hours during the night, but this had the effect of making me nauseous, though I did not realise the connection. I should have taken the anti-nauseous drug, which I knew from last time was the very painful jab in the posterior. So I didn't bother. Wrong. I was suddenly very sick. I then found out I could have it painlessly inserted into my cannula on my hand. Bingo! But the chicken tikka masala which sounded quite nice when I ordered it yesterday, wasn't such a good idea at lunch time today...

The nurse apologised profusely for the appearance of tonight's offering - a collapsed vegetable lasagne. It was actually very nice. So was the rhubarb and cherry crumble.

Not good news about wee Archie. He's had a few episodes where he sticks his head in the air, nearly falling backwards, and sniffing madly. He did this a year or so ago, and it turned out it was his sore eye, which was easily fixed. But a couple of days ago he started sniffing furiously around the whole bed, then ran off and sat in a corner. He was fine during the day. Then he did it again yesterday morning. JR checked on Google and found YouTube videos of just such behaviour, and it's actually some kind of a seizure! Jings!! The young vet didn't know, but wants a video of the behaviour. He's a worry, that boy.

Poor JR - TWO invalids to look after. Just as well she's retired.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.