Two Happy Places!

Today was the day Ella had been most looking forward to - Tintagel. For once we were on the road early , well early for us! We had breakfast in Tintagel, Eggy Toast for me of course! Then we made our way down to the castle. Oh my, the plethora of people and  shops  - 16 years since Ella was here, over 30 for me! The place has changed beyond recognition! I never got to see the castle as the steps going up finally became too deep, I could feel a familiar strain in my groin which if i had continued would have meant incapacity at some point. So they went up and I went down to wait for them! A happy time spent people watching - rather overweight people looking seriously strained on even the easy part where I was perched, dogs of all breeds gettingspooked by the feet coming at them, children in various conditions of eagerness and fed-up-ness! One woman was wearing high heeled wedges and I watched her perilously teeter down, clutching at the rail as her ankle turned over repeatedly! I also saw a seal - but briefly! After a while I wondered if Ella would be returning to the bottom by the other route, so made my way down to the shop, looked round the exhibition and had an espresso and sat some more. This book is one of the exhibits - showing how literary figures like tennyson, were inspired by The  Arthurian Legends.Then I realised the car parking ticket was near to running out so messaged Ella and walked back up to sit in the car and read the paper!
Together once more we drove through Boscastle, another busy tourist area, to Crackington Haven - heavenly! One pub, one cafe, sprinkling of surfers! By this time we were all seriously flagging - Ella and I had been up gone 3am chatting and the climb up for them had been tiring. After a lovely dinner of Fish and Chips for me and Husband, Gruyere tart for Ella, we felt rejuvenated and hit the beach. Oh happy time! I just love the beach and gleefully picked my way carefully over the rocks to photograph the splendour of the place! 
Ella and I had the perfect day in our Happy Places and husband is a dear and was happy as we were happy! 
P.S. Loved the sight of the mustard pot that I gave a woman to hold open the window! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.