Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Through the Front Window

After a very hot, humid day, the sky sighed as the evening arrived. No one seemed to be outside watching. I could have stood there forever just watching, ooohing and aaahing.

We returned the rental car today. Just two weeks ago we drove to Ontario Airport (a quick 15 minutes from our place) and came home in two cars. If we are going to drive more than a couple hundred miles on vacation, we usually rent a car so there are no worries of the vehicle breaking-down. We've done this for several years now and still find it to be a good vacation habit. During our vacation we rent as far north as Marina on the edge of the Monterey Bay.

So today we went to Ontario Airport in two cars and came home in one, but vacation hasn't ended. This coming week, we'll enjoy a few more carefree days. We have no agenda . . . we're just going to do whatever we feel like and if we want, we'll just do nothing.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. We had a terrible scare this morning. One of our pooches, Mitzi, had gone downstairs with Mr. Fun and out into the backyard. When he brought her back inside, he made a stop in the kitchen and forgot that the "man-door" to our garage was open and the big garage door was opened slightly to let a breeze in. So without our permission, Mitzi went exploring. A short while later Mr. Fun came upstairs and realized that Mitzi was no where in sight. We quickly realized she had escaped. I was immediately gripped with fear and terror. Mr. Fun went out in the car looking for her. I quickly slipped out of my jammies and into some play clothes and started walking the neighborhood. I was three houses from ours scanning the entire neighborhood when I looked up the sidewalk and saw Mitzi running toward me as fast as she could run. Her underside was all wet from walking through the neighbors' front yards. I just picked her up and hugged and hugged her. I was so thrilled to find her and that I did not have to chase her. I took my cellphone from my pocket and called Mr. Fun while I breathed a sigh of relief. We went home rejoicing and Mr. Fun pulled into the driveway and joined our rejoicing. We think it is the first time in the 18 months she's been with us that she has escaped. We hope it is the last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.