From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Last of the Pirates - Another Clock

I've been running a bit late with blips lately and have tended to do the odd late night clock blip. This wasn't late, it was just a forgotten clock I used to have on my PC base unit in the old office which I brought home before the move. I know a couple of ladies named 'Caroline' but this doesn't refer to either of them, great though they are!

It's all about Radio Caroline. The last ship (The Ross Revenge) is moored at Tilbury Docks. I went with a few radio enthusiasts for a visit a while ago. There are sometimes broadcast days from the ship on special occasions but the radio station (now legal) broadcasts from Maidstone in Kent. As my friend Chris (who I don't see much these days as he is often in the Czech Republic) says, 'The ship is the Spiritual home of Caroline'. I must set up a Blipfolio with some pictures from my visit day. I found the kitchen the most interesting! People work there all year round and I always like looking in other people's fridges and that one was full of joints of meat and jars of dubious looking things. I just had a couple of builders' strength mugs of tea before taking loads of pictures all over the boat and then we set off back to Brum as the sun was setting over Tilbury Docks.

I was just about OK clambering around on board while the ship was stationary but I couldn't help but admire all those radio presenters and engineers actually putting broadcasts out and living for months on rough seas! Last of the pirate radio stations it certainly was, but it lives on today and there are loads of supporters, like me - Radio Caroline - Real People, Real Music

The track to accompany this is featured in the film 'The Boat That Rocked'. It was impossible to decide what to put so I just put this as I like it - The Moody Blues - Nights in White Satin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.