Pa rum pum pum pum

Somebody very close to me (who will remain nameless) looked at 'my skinny little legs' the other day and told me I'd lost too much weight (I was wearing running tights FYI, and who doesn't look like they have skinny little legs in running tights?!). I explained to said person that I tend to try and watch what I eat during term time so that I can absolutely pig out during holidays. Today was a good reason for such a lifestyle. Our Christmas parties at school are in full swing and I have eaten a mountain of chocolate snowballs and various other festive treats.

Managed five minutes away from work today to pick up a gift for a very special baby boy (no, not Jesus...). Actually, it was probably more than five minutes. Why are newborn baby clothes so cute?

This evening the choir performed at the Christmas Tree Festival at St. Chad's. Even though there were more Christmas trees than people watching us, it was still magnificent. There's something spine-tingly good about performing there in such a beautiful church with such incredible acoustics. 

In other ways it's been a totally weird day. It's the oddest feeling, just carrying on with your day to day activities and then refreshing the BBC news page to check for updates from Aleppo and feeling so utterly devastated and totally powerless. Social media is a blessing and a curse. It's much easier to switch off when you're not directly confronted with a person's final words as they wait to be killed. And then that feeling of powerlessness forces you back to work and before you know it, you're back to your day to day activities, while those people are still waiting. Lord, have mercy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.