LadyPride

By LadyPride

Liver Birds

Had to work today on an in-store event for one of my company's optician clients.

Audrey must have known as she decided to wake up crying every 2-3 hours (she's been known to sleep 6 hours, but not last night - Oh no!) I had a sense of humour failure at 5am as I couldn't get back to sleep and had to be up for 7am. Nothing worse than lying awake waiting for your alarm.

Was so so tired this morning, I could hardly speak. Caught a train to Lime Street and ghost walked my way through the morning at the store. Looked like death too. And the problem with being in an opticians was that there were mirrors everywhere!!

The event involved getting children aged 3-15 to have their picture taken wearing glasses. It was happening all round the country (with our staff manning other locations).

By the afternoon, it started to become clear that the Liverpool store was in the lead (I do love a competition) as we had photographed the most children. I started to wake up (albeit slowly) and dare I say it, enjoy it! Interviewing the kids was fun, especially now I've joined the parent club myself (something I shared at any opportunity, saddo that I am!)

Some of the kids were unbelievably cute and I enjoyed imagining how Audrey would be at their age.

I love the Scousers. They are so friendly and down-to-earth. A real breed of their own. They see humour in any situation and there was lots of smiles and laughter throughout the day. They are also very family focused and they come shopping to town on a Saturday en masse - Mum, kids, Nan, Aunties, Cousins...the men were nowhere to be seen though - watching footie or in the pub at a guess.

I also love the way the Liverpool girls make such an effort to look good. Even Grandmas were dolled up to the nines. It really makes me smile. Good on 'em I say, nothing wrong with trying to look your best!

Audrey went with her Dad up to Lancaster so see her Grand Nana. My husband has timed it so he can listen to the football on the way back on the radio. Poor Audrey sat in the back, strapped in being forced to listen to Talksport!

Am working again tomorrow, this time closer to home in Manchester. Let's hope Audrey goes easy on me tonight and lets me have some sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.