From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

The summer sun is fading as the year grows old....

I was working from home and was in the kitchen putting the kettle on when I saw two squirrels scampering about the lawn. I got my camera out of my bag, just in case they came close enough to provide me with a decent shot. I was only there a minute when one came right up the lawn, close to the house. It was too much to hope that he'd sit on the table as they sometimes do but I took a few pictures before heading back to the front room. This was my favourite.

Where has this year gone? This little fellow was just like a little old man. I've been watching him for years and his glossy coat now has a tinge of grey to it. I do think gardens have resident squirrels who stay in the same areas for most of their lives. I like to think so anyway, but I will be sad when the inevitable happens and he doesn't come one year.

Shake yourself up Roz!!! I'm not going to be gloomy! I loved my little visitor and envy him his long sleep sometimes. I think a lot of us would like to hibernate for the winter months to wake only when the first fingers of spring reach through. I'm not sure when the best time would be for emerging but I'm pretty sure no one would steal my nuts! You'd have to get up bloody early to beat me!

The track had to be this one to go with the autumn feel.

Forever Autumn - Justin Hayward

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.