Autumnal Speckled Wood

Today has been super so far (OK, it's only lunchtime ....) I did my exercises (well some of them) and then went for a workout and a swim, still full of good intentions.

I had a phone call from my sister in law. The news about my nephew from his latest MRI is good. We know not to rush away with wild optimism but good is good and we need to enjoy.

I went for a walk in Pipe Hall Woodland and was delighted that The Woodland Trust have put up helpful signs to encourage people to make the most of this marvellous area.

I didn't think I would see any butterflies at all - but three different speckled woods posed at various points on my wander. I missed a Common Blue and a Large White - but I did snap a couple of crickets.

The wildflower meadow is dying off but still stunningly beautiful, with a few stray cornflowers and poppies amid the daisies.

All this seemed like a bonus - a very welcome surprise.

Wildflower meadow

cricket

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.