Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

France Day Five

Well, after several hour long bus trips over the past couple of days, I have finally succumbed to a sore throat and a hacking cough. I hate air con, and last night's journey home with completely unnecessary air con, was the final straw. (I had asked the guide quietly to turn it down, but she forgot).

I coughed all night. However, one of my new friends had two bottles of cough mixture and gave me one. Most people find the air con in the boat too cold. Heck, it's only 19° outside today - it's warmer in Edinburgh, as Archie has told me. And we don't need air con.

I'm lubricating my throat with coffee and beer (NO red wine) but decided an afternoon watching the tennis would be more therapeutic than a guided tour of Cadillac. I sent my assistant photographer off with the camera. She did pretty well, je pense.

BTW, I don't stick out (excuse the pun) with my dodgy knees - I see many folk struggling with steps and using walking sticks. One man is on a mobility scooter for trips.

PPS just had to change a photo to include the lovely Vlad, our butler. I didn't feel it was polite to cough and sneeze over fellow passengers at dinner, so I had room service. It was excellent.

I'm just relaxing in my fluffy dressing gown, nibbling on beautifully sliced fresh fruit, watching the football football not on, and photos of Archie are pinging in from his day out with Elizabeth. This is the life!

Edit:10pm. The lovely Vlad has just returned with camomile and peppermint tea for me, as promised. I'm taking him home!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.