Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

France Day Six

Vlad's camomile and peppermint tea at 10pm did not have the desired effect. My cough got worse, and I had coughing fits for most of the night. Even my eyeballs are sore. I can't remember ever having it this bad.

However, I did get up to go on the morning trip round the Sauterne region and to visit one chateau for tastings. It's a very beautiful area, and it would be lovely to potter around on a bike with a chauffeur. And actually, the sweet wines did feel quite therapeutic...

JR went for a tour of the village this afternoon, but I didn't feel up to it, choosing to snooze and watch tennis instead. And in fact, we got a room service meal this evening. We had been due to go to a special meal, but gave our tickets to our Aussie pals instead.

We've berthed in Bordeaux this evening. We had to work with the tides to get through a low bridge at the lowest tide.

I really must be fit for a day in the city tomorrow!

Archie has had a a great day again - up Blackford Hill in the morning with Christine and Rufus, and up Arthur's seat in the afternoon with Elizabeth. (See extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.