Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Precious

Today has been all go. I took Archie out for our usual round the block walk, and a man came running up to me.

'Excuse me. Do you mind not letting your dog pee on my hedge?'
'Pardon?'
'I have a nice garden and I like to sit out in it, but because all the dogs pee on my hedge, it stinks.'
'Er, that's what dogs do. Then it rains. What do you want me to do?'
'Walk on the other side of the road.'


The other side of the road, to be fair, is just a wall, not other people's hedges. I have asked a few people's opinions today, and they all think he was 'a bit precious'.

Archie had a bath after his walk as a) he needed it and b) Anne, his borrower, was coming round with her parents (who are visiting from America, and are schnauzer fans) to visit Archie. They loved him, of course, even before he went through all his tricks.

Then we had a wander down to the Meadows Fesitval. Such good weather for it this year. Lots of dogs, and a dog agility course you could have a go on with your dog. We passed on that opportunity for total embarrassment.

We met up with Hamish, a local schnauzer. He's a big lad! I presume Hamish piddles on that man's hedge too...

Archie and JR have gone up the Hill with Rufus and his mum, and the visiting Archie, a lovely big brown lab. I am watching the tennis - a great women's final. But very noisy.

I then have to think about going out this evening to a wedding reception, which I could be doing without. What to wear? Probably not my comfy old ripped shoes...

PS: Got my operation date! July 11th.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.