Thursday: Munro's

An early start as I had to catch the 0700 ferry to Vancouver Island. I'm in Victoria for a couple of days of meetings.

My meetings today have been very naval - I spent some time on a submarine (in dry dock, I should add - not underwater. I'm not sure I'd be so keen on that. Apparently the smell after several months at sea is quite something.....what with only two showers for a crew of 50, that figures.....) and some time on a navy base, with lots of saluting men.

I took a stroll this evening and had a very pleasant browse in 'Munro's', a really excellent bookshop. It's not huge but its selection is perfect. Jim Munro, who died relatively recently, was a legendary bookseller here in BC - he was also Alice Munro's ex-husband. At one point, they ran a bookstore together, before they separated.

There seems to be a prom taking place in the hotel. At any rate, there is some very loud music playing. At the moment, it's the Spice Girls.........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.