Traffic - all day

Last night we managed to find our camp site in the dark. Aye, the nights are drawing in! It was a farmer's field down a narrow lane about 3 miles up the road from Dover and cost £10 - not as good as the free Aires in France but better than the £15 bus park in Canterbury on the way down.

We woke to glorious sunshine, and had a leisurely breakfast making the most of sitting outside in the sun - we rarely get such opportunities in Northumberland, especially for breakfast. Then we hit the road - what a contrast to the quiet (apart from round cities) well-surfaced roads of France. We were stuck in slow-moving and stationary traffic most of the way north. (I'm writing this on the A1, 8 hours into the journey so no wonder I'm grumpy - after all we've been over 3 weeks away from news of Brexit and Trump and ISIS.)

It was great to be away and able to bury my head in the sand but we are back to worry about it all. (I deleted most of my pro-Keynesian economics rant). Oh and it is raining and I've got my jumper on - it'll be socks on before we get home. Just as well we set the fire before we left.

Ps We got home 10 hours after leaving Dover, been to the shop and the first load of washing is on.

Sent from my iPad

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.