Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2017 Thursday -- Pippin and the Pups

Pippin is a therapy dog. Who doesn't need therapy? We met her owner, Vivian, at a little cafe several weeks ago in Cambria and discovered that we all live in houses with the same address number: 545. Her home is in Morro Bay. We told her to come see us sometime in Cayucos.

She came by today. I heard a knock on the door, the pups busted the silence with barking, I opened the door, and Vivian said, "Hi, I'm Vivian. I met you a couple weeks ago. I'm part of the '545 Club'!"

Mr. Fun was up the street watching some new construction. I invited Vivian into our totally messy house; my bed wasn't even made (ugh) because we had walked to the Captain Cass House on the north end of town this morning to visit their bakery, so we had left everything in the house undone and cluttered.

Vivian was here as I put the pups in the kitchen to eat their lunch and closed the kitchen's half-door. Then Vivian asked if she could bring Pippin in the house. We were delighted to have Pippin and once the pups finished their lunches, they came out of the kitchen and they were delighted that Pippin was here. They never get to have visitors!

Little over a week ago, we had actually put a letter in the mail to Vivian after meeting her in Cambria to give her our phone number and gently suggest that she should phone before she would come over to our place. We had no doubt that someday she'd show-up. She was conversing with everyone on the patio of the cafe where we met her a couple weeks ago; a very friendly person. She must be at least 10 to 15 years our senior.

No luck with the phone ahead concept, but what a lovely moment with her. She had brought a photo album of snapshots to show us her former home in Cambria, her current home in Morro Bay (built in 1906), her horse ranch in Oregon she lost due to divorce, photos of Pippin, of her horses, former horses, and of drawings and paintings she had done. So I sat her right down at the kitchen counter to look at photos with me (and not my messy house). When Mr. Fun walked in, I got him to sit down with her and the snapshots, and when she went downstairs to get Pippin out of the car and into the house, I ran to the bedroom to quickly make our bed (because I had to show off the "mermaid" headboard). Sheeesh!

Vivian had a lunch date with a friend, so she wasn't here long. As she left, she thanked us for the tour of our place and said if we had just dropped over to her place we'd have found a much messier house. I chuckled silently. What I know now is that she came to see us much more than our place. I look forward to more Vivian visits. Her snapshots included a photo of her mom and one of her aunt, they were both actresses. Her mom, Vivian Tobin, was in the Cecil B. DeMille movie "The Sign of the Cross." Such fascinating history!

On our walk to the Cass House this morning, we met a lady who was born and raised here; her mom & dad owned Cayucos land and farmed it here before selling it as lots to be developed. She has just retired after 30 years of teaching math at Continuation High School in Visalia. There are living history books all around me.

Fabulous Thursday!
Rosie (& Mr. Fun) aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.